What does this say about me…?

Maya Angelou said, “You can tell a lot about a person by the way (s)he handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.” That may be true. I believe you can also tell a lot about a person by their browser bookmarks (or “favorites,” depending on the program.)

Like most people, I have some boring sites bookmarked. I need them, but I don’t necessarily enjoy them. Like my bank’s website. I may want to check my account balance, but it won’t make me laugh. Most often it doesn’t even make me smile. I also work on my computer, so I have to visit my office website. I don’t hate doing it, but it isn’t fun.

For fun, I have a bunch of spots on my toolbar so I can get to them quickly and easily. In no particular order, here are some sites from my bookmarks:

http://Facebook.com – If you aren’t on Facebook, it’s probably because you made a conscious decision not to join it. If you don’t know what Facebook is, I can’t help you. And by the way, how did you find MY blog?

Ravelry.com – a knitting website. Like Facebook for knitters. There are patterns, people, places to keep track of your projects and places to brag about the things you’ve made. It’s also home to some of the nicest people I’ve never met.

Pottermore.com – for people who want more Harry Potter. It’s only recently opened to the public. It’s supposed to be for kids, but everyone I know who signed up for it is an adult.

Pinterest.com – “Pin” a picture. That’s all. Look at other people’s pictures. Get ideas. Don’t think to hard. I love it.

Places I haven’t bookmarked, but visit semi-regularly, when I want to waste time and get a smile:

ANY of the icanhascheezburger.com-related sites. My favorite being the lolcats.

There’s failbook.failblog.org – which is the best, that is to say the worst, of facebook entries. Of course, if you are actively avoiding facebook or don’t know what facebook is (Really, is there anyone on a computer who doesn’t know what facebook is? Really?) you won’t find these funny. (Foul language warning.)

If you have ever texted with an iPhone and had the auto correct change your text to something unintentional or downright embarrassing, you’ll love damnyouautocorrect.com. (More foul language here, as the title may suggest.)

Along the same “texting with an iPhone” theme, I recently discovered textsfromdog.tumblr.com. These are supposedly texts between a dog and his owner. Lots of foul language – but if you’ve ever had a dog, you understand that.

Thinkgeek.com – wonderful place to find geeky gifts. Where else can you find things like a lightsaber umbrella or a Star Trek inflatable Captain’s Chair.

If you’re feeling melancholy or want to reminisce about the good old days, visit dearphotograph.com. Pictures taken from the past are held up against the present landscape.

If, after all of this, you can’t find a website to fit your mood, try out coolsiteoftheday.com. Something for everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you have a favorite website, please leave it for me in the comments!

6 thoughts on “What does this say about me…?

  1. When I need a good laugh… I go to kissthisguy.com. It’s an archive of misheard music lyrics and named for Jimi Hendrix’ “kiss the sky” that caused a stir when it was originally misheard.

Leave a Reply

